Doom Wiki
Advertisement

Cover is a mechanic in Doom: The Boardgame, which represents an enemy's ability to hide behind walls and other objects. In a literal sense, it can provide for extra defense from attacks, but it is not always a guarantee.

Official Rules[]

Basic[]

During an attack, figures can hide behind certain terrain to have a defensive advantage called Cover.

After determining line of sight, an attacker must determine if the defender has cover. To determine cover, the attacker draws an imaginary line from the corner of their space they used to determine line of sight from to each corner of the defender's space. If any of these lines pass through a wall (thick black line) difficult terrain (dotted blue line) blocking terrain (solid red line), or any space containing a figure (other than the defender and attackers spaces), the defender has cover

During an attack, a defender that has cover may choose to reveal an additional defense card. If they do, the first card is discarded and ignored.

Advanced[]

Cover represents figures hiding behind walls, terrain, and other figures during attack. During the "Reveal Defense" phase of an attack, if the defender has cover, they may discard their revealed defense card, ignoring the result, and reveal a second defense card. If they do, they must use the second card revealed as their defense card.

  • After an attacker determines line of sight, they must determine if the defender has cover.
  • To determine if a figure has cover, the attacker might draw a straight, imaginary line from the same corner he used the determine line of sight to each corner of the defender's space.
    • If one of more of the drawn lines crosses a wall, blocking terrain, difficult terrain, or any figure (other than the attacker and defender), then the defender has cover.
    • If none of the drawn lines cross a wall, blocking terrain, difficult terrain, or a figure (other than the attacker and defender) the defender does NOT have cover.
    • If the corner used to determine light of sight is shared by the defender, the defender does not have cover.
  • Impassable terrain does not provide cover
  • If a defender uses cover to reveal a second card, they must use that card. The first card is ignored.
  • Large figures cannot have cover. When a large figure is the defender, rules regarding cover are ignored.
  • If a figure is stunned, it cannot have cover. When a stunned figure is the defender, rules regarding cover are ignored.
Advertisement